LearnDash pricing and what an online course site costs
An online course site on LearnDash, Hostinger and the free Kadence theme comes to $397.88 in the first year, using each vendor's own price. LearnDash is sold as a bundle through Liquid Web and its page prints no renewal price, so the renewal total is a minimum. I have not run speed or uptime tests, and prices were read on October 30 and 31, 2026.
What this job needs
A course site needs lessons with quizzes, certificates, a way to charge for courses, and a WordPress host with backups. I picked LearnDash because its own pricing page states quizzes, certificates, built-in memberships and group seats in text I could read, in one plan with no priced add-ons. The Tutor LMS and Sensei pages list features in check-mark tables that did not read as text, so that is a limit of my read and not a finding about those products.
- Courses with lessons and quizzes, stated on the plugin's own page
- Certificates, stated on the plugin's own page
- A way to charge for courses or memberships, stated on the plugin's own page
- A WordPress host plan that lists backups and shows a price in USD on the host's own page
- A theme with a price stated on its own page, free or paid
Recommended plugins, theme and host
Plugin: LearnDash
The 1 site tier is $350 a year. The page lists quizzes, assignments, certificates, built-in memberships, group seats and reporting, with Give, The Events Calendar and Kadence in the same price. It prints no renewal price and no list of payment gateways for selling courses.
Cost: Bundle, 1 site, billed annually. $350 in the first year, with no renewal price stated by the vendor. Checked Oct 30, 2026.
Hosting: Hostinger
The lowest first-year cash among the USD hosts I read that list backups: $47.88 for 12 months, against $132 for Cloudways, $336 for WP Engine and $350 for Kinsta. It renews at $10.99 a month, which is $131.88 for 12 months. The page lists 3 websites, 20 GB SSD storage and free weekly backups.
Cost: Premium, 12-month term, 12 months, paid upfront. $47.88 in the first year, $131.88 a year at renewal. Checked Oct 30, 2026.
Theme: Kadence
A theme whose wordpress.org page shows no price and lists paid commercial upgrades and support as separate. The LearnDash bundle page lists Kadence and does not say which Kadence products that covers; the theme here is the free Kadence theme from WordPress.org.
Cost: Kadence theme, free, free. $0 in the first year, $0 a year at renewal. Checked Oct 30, 2026.
What it costs
First year is what you pay in the first 12 months. A plan marked as prepaid covers more than 12 months, so its amount is the full upfront payment and not a 12-month cost. Renewal is the cost of 12 months at the price the vendor lists for renewal. Every figure shows the date I checked it.
| Product | Plan and billing term | First year | Renewal, per year | Included | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LearnDashPlugin | Bundle, 1 siteBilled annually$350 a year, with '$350 / per site' shown beside it. The LearnDash billing page says the license 'will automatically renew exactly one calendar year from the initial purchase'. The page does not state a renewal price, and does not state whether tax is included. | $350 | Not stated by the vendor | Every tier includes Give, The Events Calendar, LearnDash and Kadence. LearnDash covers quizzes, assignments, certificates, built-in memberships (MemberDash), group seats and reporting. | |
| HostingerHosting | Premium, 12-month term12 months, paid upfront$3.99 a month on the 12-month term. The page says: Today you pay $47.88 for 12 months. Renews at $10.99/mo for the same term. Twelve months at $10.99 is $131.88. Prices are listed without VAT. | $47.88 | $131.88 | 3 websites, 20 GB SSD storage, free weekly backups, CDN, priority 24/7 expert support | |
| KadenceTheme | Kadence theme, freeFreeThe wordpress.org page says: This theme is free but offers additional paid commercial upgrades or support. Version 1.5.2, last updated July 24, 2026. It is a free theme, so no renewal applies. | $0 | $0 | The theme from wordpress.org, listed with 500,000+ active installations | |
| Total | $397.88 | At least $131.881 renewal price is not stated by the vendor | |||
Every plan, billing term and source: Online course plan prices, first year and renewal
A cheaper stack
LifterLMS Earth costs $199 a year against $350 for LearnDash, which makes the first year $246.88. It gives up LearnDash's single-price bundle: the LifterLMS page names Groups and Course Cohorts add-ons, but I did not map them to the Earth bundle. Its renewal is stated only as full price, with no figure for Earth. I did not choose Tutor LMS or MasterStudy as the cheaper pick because their plan-by-plan feature tables did not read as text. Their listed prices are Tutor LMS Individual at $139.30 a year (struck-through $199.00) and MasterStudy single site at $69.30 a year (struck-through $99), both under Halloween offers with no end date shown.
- Plugin: LifterLMS. Its FAQ says quizzes, certificates and achievement badges are in the free plan, and the Earth bundle adds ecommerce add-ons for Stripe, PayPal and WooCommerce for 1 active site. The page shows $199 beside a struck-through $398 and says renewals are at full price, with no renewal figure for Earth.
- Hosting: Hostinger. Same host and term as the main stack, chosen by the same lowest-first-year rule. Best WordPress Hosting (October 2026): Compared
- Theme: Kadence. Same free theme as the main stack.
| Product | Plan and billing term | First year | Renewal, per year | Included | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LifterLMSPlugin | Earth BundleBilled annually$199 a year beside a struck-through 'normally $398'. The FAQ says the first year is at 50% off, and the footnote says: All renewals are at full price. The page does not state a renewal price for this bundle, and does not say the full price equals $398, so no renewal is entered. All pricing is in USD. | $199 | Not stated by the vendor | 1 active site, support for 1 user, ecommerce add-ons for Stripe, PayPal and WooCommerce, Cart Abandonment Recovery and Name Your Price add-ons. Staging and test sites are unlimited. | |
| HostingerHosting | Premium, 12-month term12 months, paid upfront$3.99 a month on the 12-month term. The page says: Today you pay $47.88 for 12 months. Renews at $10.99/mo for the same term. Twelve months at $10.99 is $131.88. Prices are listed without VAT. | $47.88 | $131.88 | 3 websites, 20 GB SSD storage, free weekly backups, CDN, priority 24/7 expert support | |
| KadenceTheme | Kadence theme, freeFreeThe wordpress.org page says: This theme is free but offers additional paid commercial upgrades or support. Version 1.5.2, last updated July 24, 2026. It is a free theme, so no renewal applies. | $0 | $0 | The theme from wordpress.org, listed with 500,000+ active installations | |
| Total | $246.88 | At least $131.881 renewal price is not stated by the vendor | |||
LearnDash plans on the Liquid Web page
learndash.com/pricing redirected to a LearnDash page on liquidweb.com when I read it on October 30, 2026. Every tier is the same package, which the page words as: Every plan includes the full package: Give, The Events Calendar, LearnDash, and Kadence. Only the site count and the price change.
The page does not state a renewal price. The LearnDash billing page says the license renews automatically exactly one calendar year after the initial purchase, and that cancelling does not trigger a refund. It offers a refund within 30 days of the initial purchase.
| Sites | Price per year | Per site, as the page shows it |
|---|---|---|
| 1 site | $350 | $350 |
| 10 sites | $599 | $59.90 |
| 25 sites | $799 | $31.96 |
| 50 sites | $899 | $17.98 |
| 100 sites | $999 | $9.99 |
Official LearnDash discounts
No discount, coupon code or Black Friday offer was shown on LearnDash's own pricing page as of October 30, 2026. The page offers a free 48-hour trial (no credit card required), which is a trial and not a discount, and the billing page offers a refund within 30 days of the initial purchase.
I list no LearnDash coupon code on this page, because none is published on LearnDash's own site and coupon sites are not a source.
Other course plugins
Each row is the vendor's own price in USD, read on October 30, 2026. Tutor LMS and MasterStudy showed a Halloween promotion on that date with no stated end date, so the table gives the promotional price and the struck-through price. None of these pages states a renewal figure except where a row says so.
| Plugin and plan | Price and term | Sites | What the page states |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tutor LMS Individual | $139.30 a year, struck-through $199.00; or $424.15 once, struck-through $499.00 | 1 site | All pro add-ons and features; 30-day money-back guarantee; free core is free forever |
| Tutor LMS Business | $279.30 a year, struck-through $399.00 | Up to 10 sites | Same features as Individual |
| LifterLMS Earth | $199 a year, struck-through normally $398 | 1 active site | Ecommerce add-ons for Stripe, PayPal and WooCommerce; renewals at full price |
| LifterLMS Universe | $299 a year, struck-through normally $598 | Up to 5 active sites | Adds the Sky Pilot theme and email marketing and CRM add-ons |
| LifterLMS Infinity | $799 a year; renews at $1,598 a year per its lifetime page | Unlimited active sites | 15 advanced add-ons; a lifetime license is $10,000 in one payment |
| Sensei Pro | $179 billed yearly | 1 site | Sell courses, advanced quizzes, groups and cohorts; no renewal price stated |
| MasterStudy single site | $69.30 a year, struck-through $99; or $174.30 once, struck-through $249 | 1 site | Priority ticket support; 14-day money-back guarantee; free Starter plan |
| MasterStudy 10 sites | $139.30 a year, struck-through $199 | 10 sites | Same features as single site |
Add-ons the vendors price
LearnDash, Tutor LMS and MasterStudy list no separately priced add-ons on their pricing pages. The ones I found priced are below. A vendor that says add-ons exist without a price is left out.
- LifterLMS: Advanced Quizzes, Assignments and Continuing Education tracking are advanced add-ons included only in the Infinity Bundle, $799 a year.
- LifterLMS lists a la carte add-ons that cover 1 site each, but I did not read their prices.
- Sensei Interactive Blocks: $5 USD a month, billed $60 yearly, separate from Sensei Pro.
Payment gateway fees
Gateway fees come from the processor and are separate from every price above. Stripe's US page, read October 31, 2026, lists 2.9% + 30¢ per successful transaction for domestic cards, plus 0.5% for manually entered cards, 1.5% for international cards and 1% if currency conversion is required, and a $15.00 fee for each dispute you receive.
PayPal's own US fee page, last updated October 1, 2026, lists PayPal Checkout at 3.49% plus a fixed fee, standard credit and debit card payments at 2.99% plus a fixed fee, and a US dollar fixed fee of 0.49 USD.
Free plugins and their install counts
These counts are from each plugin's wordpress.org page, read on October 30, 2026. LearnDash has no wordpress.org page, and its own page claims 100K active installs, which is the vendor's figure.
| Plugin | Active installations | Version shown |
|---|---|---|
| Tutor LMS | 100,000+ | 4.2.0 |
| LifterLMS | 10,000+ | 10.3.2 |
| MasterStudy LMS | 10,000+ | 3.7.57 |
| Sensei LMS | 9,000+ | 4.26.4 |
What this page is based on
Nothing on this page comes from hands-on use of these products. Every price and limit is the vendor's own, read from its page on the date shown, and I have not run speed, uptime or support tests.
How I checked
Every price comes from the cost page named above, read from each vendor's own pricing page on October 30, 2026. Tutor LMS, MasterStudy and Stripe were re-read in a US view on October 31, 2026. Nothing was converted or rounded, and nothing was purchased. I have not run speed or uptime tests.
The first-year total adds the plugin, host and theme rows. The renewal total adds only renewal prices the vendors state, so a plan with no stated renewal makes the total a minimum. The hosting row is the same one used on the best WordPress hosting list.
Sources and checked dates
Every price above comes from the vendor's own pricing page.
- LearnDash pricing page, checked . Prices change; confirm at checkout.
- Hostinger pricing page, checked . Prices change; confirm at checkout.
- Kadence pricing page, checked . Prices change; confirm at checkout.
- LifterLMS pricing page, checked . Prices change; confirm at checkout.
Questions
How much does LearnDash cost?
LearnDash's page, on Liquid Web, lists $350 a year for 1 site and up to $999 a year for 100 sites, billed annually, with Give, The Events Calendar and Kadence in every tier. It states no renewal price.
Is there a LearnDash coupon or discount?
None was shown on LearnDash's own pricing page as of October 30, 2026. It offers a free 48-hour trial and, per its billing page, a refund within 30 days of purchase.
Did LearnDash change how it sells plans?
On October 30, 2026 learndash.com/pricing redirected to a Liquid Web page selling one bundle by site count. I did not read an older LearnDash plan list, so I cannot say what it replaced.
